Almost boarding.... - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Mathilde Heereveld - WaarBenJij.nu Almost boarding.... - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Mathilde Heereveld - WaarBenJij.nu

Almost boarding....

Door: Mathilde

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mathilde

24 Augustus 2014 | Nederland, Groningen

Hullo boys and girls, here just a wee message to keep thee updated about my hopes and fears just a mere couple of days before I fly away from this fab continent towards Hay River, also known as a small place in the North of Canada, the Hub, farfaraway, and Winterfell…

Flight
My flight is at 2pm on Thursday the 28th of August and I shall go directly from Amsteram to Toronto. I’ll arrive there at 4 (10pm Dutch time) and I’ll have to arrange my visa there and get onto my 8pm flight to Edmonton where I’ll arrive at 10pm. The flight is 4 hours and Edmonton has the same time difference and Hay River so I guess you’ll all be asleep by then. I’ll fly to Hay River on the 29th and you may or may not hear from me then.

So now about my hopes and fears in reverse order.

FEARS
As you may or may not have heard I need all four of my wisdom teeth removed before I go and I have gotten rid of two so far. My mouth smells like death and decay and my jaw just hurts a lot. I am not feeling too great. The other two in-the-way teeth will be removed on Tuesday and thus my fear here is that on the plane everything will start bleeding and/or hurting like hell. Trust me, this wisom teeth business just really – rhymes with Canucks -.

Other, more random, and perhaps less rational fears I have are that people will randomly start talking to me in French because j’ai oublie tout. Oú est la syndicat d’initiative???
I also fear that in Toronto boarder police is going to be like ‘sorry we know nothing about that VISA’ or like ‘bringing this many stroopwafels into the country is NOT allowed. Come with me to my office’. I really intend to hang on to my stroops because I want to use them to make friends instantly and might need to trade them with my new neighbours for a fresh fish.

And then there is my laptop who (I know I should say which but it’s just I spend so much time with it she/he/it is kind of my homie) is suffering from some sort of laptop old people’s disease because it takes about 5 minutes to start up and 10 to open any word document. It just might have a heart attack slash CRASH or stop functioning because of frostBYTE (get it?) within a week of my arrival…


HOPES
Well, I hope and pray for lots of things (glitter, free cookies, hot stewards, world peace) but let’s keep this relatively short: I hope that my voyage will be bon. That someone will pick me up from the airport in Hay River and take me to my home. That my internet will work!! That the people at home – les Pays-Bas - will not forget about me (sob, smile, tear). That I am allowed to bring danoontjes (liquid food for grown ups) on the plane (wisom teeth etc). That no flights will be cancelled (this has happened in the past). That no weird Russian stalker guys will be on the plane (this has happened in the past, too). That my housemates in Hay River will be cool and down for some card games every now and then. And that they won’t be, like, vegans. I also hope that all of you will send me lots of love letters with perfume and heart confetti in them. This here below will be my correspondence address (note: this is the address of the school so not my actual home address which I do not know. Of course pictures and movies of my house and surroundings will be made shortly after I arrive, hopefully as soon as next weekend!):

c/o Diamond Jenness Secondary School
56 Woodland Drive
Hay River, Northwest Territories
X0E 0R8

Thank you for reading. Next post will be from Hay River! Ciao superdoei au revoir :*

- Mathilde

  • 25 Augustus 2014 - 08:58

    Auntie:

    He Mathilde,
    Wow.....ik ga voor de hopes. Als ik jou was zou ik fijn nodig of onnodig even een paar dagen flinke onstekingsremmende pijnstillers gaan slikken. Ibuprofen of diclofenac. Was een tip van de apotheek toen ik er 1 dag voor vertrek ook 1 liet trekken. Die drukken iedere ontsteking zo de kop in.
    Ik duim voor wifi en veel mooie reisverslagen.
    Xx Marianne

  • 25 Augustus 2014 - 13:38

    Geanne:

    Ahh wat een leuk en grappig stukje. Ik ga proberen om me te houden aan je voorschriften voor de liefdesbrieven (confetti, parfum etc.) zodat je weet dat we je niet vergeten!
    And as for Danootjes: voor volwassenen? Haha! Ik zie je donderdag op het station! X

  • 29 Augustus 2014 - 08:09

    Peter:

    Hé Mathilde,
    Ik heb een paar foto's van je vlucht naar je gmail gestuurd. We hebben de vlucht helemaal kunnen volgen op flightradar24. Wat een enorm uitgestrekt gebied van meren en woestenij moet je hebben gezien. We kijken uit naar je eerste foto's. Goede reis verder!
    Peter en Ina

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mathilde

Teacher of English Language and Culture... ...on me way tae Canada!!! Beauty 'eh?

Actief sinds 06 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 376
Totaal aantal bezoekers 35327

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Augustus 2014 - 30 Juni 2015

Hey Hay River

03 September 2010 - 11 Juni 2011

I say Glasgow... Take Me Out

Landen bezocht: