Lectures and fried mars bars - Reisverslag uit Glasgow, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Mathilde Heereveld - WaarBenJij.nu Lectures and fried mars bars - Reisverslag uit Glasgow, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Mathilde Heereveld - WaarBenJij.nu

Lectures and fried mars bars

Door: Supermatz

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mathilde

22 September 2010 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Glasgow

Dear People.

Your beloved Mathilde is doing okay, it is a bit of ups-and-downs at the moment. Still having fun, but still ill. Some nights I hardly sleep because I have to cough so much and blow my nose and fun stuff like that. However, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do which is, in this case, party, play football, and go to lectures. Aye.

#1 Party
Last weekend I felt terrible, but I promised my housemateys to go to a pub with them (you might have seen the pics on facebook). The crazy Catalan girl would not go home until she got her mars bar fried. For those who haven’t heard: the Scots are not only famous for whiskey and haggis, they are also said to fry chocolate bars. I asked a Scottish guy about it and he said only few Fish and Chips shops do it nowadays because it is forbidden. This did not stop the Catalan girl, who took us on a quest to find a Fish and Chips shop who would fry her mars bar. In the end we succeeded and to be fair, it does not taste as terrible as it looks or sounds. I actually thought it was quite nice, but I don’t suppose I’ll have another one, ever, because such snacks can kill you. The owner of the Fish and Chips shop made us swear not to tell our friends that they fried mars bars, so for whoever is interested: it’s the one on Park Road, with the oldish Turkish guy behind the counter.

#2 Play Football
Erm. Maybe I should’ve chosen curling instead. I mean, I was mopping the kitchen floor just now and thinking about that, that it would be cool, and indoors.. Football is fun, but the training hours suck, and so do my skills. Training is on Mondays and Tuesdays, in the evening. It means that they expect me to practice until 10pm on a faraway field (which means I won’t be home before 11.30 because the busses only go twice an hour, and I’d rather not take the shortcut through the park in the dark). What is more is that these people play even when it rains, snows, storms. Complaining about this would be very un-Scottish I suppose. Sooo I did not go on Monday for I was ill, and then I did go on yesterday because I felt guilty, and now I’m even worse. *cough* I better get used to it!

#3 My lectures have started!
This week I got to remember how much I hate getting up early. Better get used to that, too, because I have a busy schedule. The courses I take are Scottish Literature (which is Medieval stories and poems in Middle Scots, awesome!), Sociolinguistics, Medieval English Language (which is not just about Medieval Literature but more about the Middle English – I will do a lot of translating..) and ermmm The History of Scots (which I will find out about tomorrow, but I’m really excited about this one). I actually wanted to do some more modern lit, but those courses all clashed with my othersand was not allowed to take American Literature sooo I guess I’ll just have to become an expert on Medieval Literature.. The teachers/profs all seem quite nice, although it was pretty hard to understand the Scottish Literature one.. instead of ‘the poor’ she says ‘the purrr’ etcetera (pronounced as egg-setre, the last one being a schwa :p) but I think I’ll get used to that as well. Next week will be a lot more crowded because that is when the seminars start… uh-oh..!

I get a bit stressed when I think about next week, but on the whole I think I’m doing fine. Nobody is mean to me, and when I feel sad there is always something to cheer me up. I just have to stop eating so much candy and eat more vegetables – right now I’m blaming Stefan for he sent me Marsepein. Thank you ^^ The fruit here is not very edible but I’ve got loads of cucumbers and tomatoes sooo I’m hoping those will make me better. Also, my housemates won’t stop from trying to stuff me with vitamis and pills and tangerines so I should be fine by the end of the week. Thank you all who think of me, I miss you! Groetjes etc, cheers, ta,

Matzzz

  • 22 September 2010 - 16:51

    Aartje:

    Heey Matz!
    Klinkt alsof je je al een beetje thuis voelt daar =) haha zo'n gefrituurde mars lijkt me echt raar.. Heb het opgezocht op internet en ze doen het eerst even in de diepvries en dan in een soort deeg en dan in de frituur? Haha misschien ga ik het ook weleens proberen =P En leuk dat je leuke vakken hebt! Je leert vast veel leuke dingen daar!
    Hopelijk wordt je gauw weer beter, en wordt je niet weer ziek door al dat gevoetbal in de storm en regen.. Beterschap! xx

  • 22 September 2010 - 16:56

    *inge*:

    Cool!! <3

  • 22 September 2010 - 18:32

    Janitha:

    nice ;) We miss you 2 chicky!

  • 22 September 2010 - 22:19

    Arnout:

    Als ik hier een frituur heb ga ik hem zeker uitproberen die mars!
    Ik moet ook maar wennen aan vroeg op staan (en wellicht wat eerder naar bed) want ik heb nu elke dag om 9 uur college..
    En volgende week vrijdag m'n eerste tentamen alweer..

    Maargoed, beterschap hé!
    En we skypen binnenkort wel weer :)

  • 23 September 2010 - 10:35

    Geanne:

    My sweet dearie!

    Good to hear you are doing fine up there! I've been missing you crazy girl! I hope your roomies are doing a good job at stuffing you with healthy stuff and soon you will feel fantastic again. Good luck with all the Scottish classes, I hope you can understand them because the Scottish ldy who's playing in Ugly betty is kina hard to keep track of.

    Wel, stay save my soccer friend. Get better soon and let's talk on Skype soon!

    Xoxo
    Gossip Girl;)

  • 23 September 2010 - 11:00

    Mafrissa:

    Hmm een gefrituurde mars.....? Ik denk niet dat ik het ooit ga proberen klinkt een beetje vies solly...!
    Maar super dat je leuke vakken hebt!
    Hoop dat het op maandags en dinsdag niet altijd regent of stormt dan kun je normaal naar voetbaltraining en niet weer ziek worden!

    Mis jou Mafthilde!!

    Kus

  • 24 September 2010 - 14:47

    Marianne:

    Hee Mathilde,
    gefrituurde mars,....jakkie.....ziet er smerig uit. geef mij maar fish & chips.
    Klinkt best gezellig daar! Groetjes van je tantetje


  • 25 September 2010 - 14:09

    0ma Toetie:

    Heel erg leukom te lezen.Gelukig kan ik dat prima. Dus de middeleeuwen worden belangrijk voor jou. Laat dat voetballen toch vallen,dat wordt beslist te veel voor je. Love from oma Toetie.

  • 26 September 2010 - 19:16

    Nina:

    Hellow Darling,

    Sounds like you're feeling a bit home already. En tja vroege opstaan hoort er dan altijd bij he! Ik mis je wel ontzettend hoor! Wou wel dat er hier altijd iets was om me op te cheren!
    Had laatst gedroomd over ons bij jou!
    Was leuk, maar mistte je daar door nog meer :P
    Nog een paar weken en dan kom ik naar jou :D
    Heel veel succes met je colleges, het klinkt erg leuk al die klassen, wil ik ook wel ;)
    Hoop dat je je al wat beter voelt :)

    Love, Nina

  • 27 September 2010 - 14:01

    Carola:

    Hmm.. dat ziet er inderdaad ranzig uit. Ghehe..

    Kan me voorstellen dat die voetbaltrainingen wat lastig vol te houden zijn op deze manier.. Je hebt geen andere club in de buurt?;).

    En Medieval literature.. respect Matz ;). Sowieso respect, lijkt me best lastig te volgen met al die accenten.

  • 09 Oktober 2010 - 17:43

    Laura:

    hee matz! je voelt je inmiddels beter hoop ik? Leuk dat je zo'n dagboek bijhoud trouwens, ik vraag me soms wel eens af hoe het met je gaat daar in Schotland dus dan is zo'n verslagje wel leuk :D Hier gaat alles z'n gangetje; je vakken klinken erg leuk trouwens! Gaaf zeg, schotse literatuur en dergelijke! :) Die gefrituurde mars zou ik mij niet zo snel aan wagen als ik de foto zie hahaha :P Nou meid, heel veel plezier daar nog, geniet ervan! Liefs, tuna

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Glasgow

Mathilde

Teacher of English Language and Culture... ...on me way tae Canada!!! Beauty 'eh?

Actief sinds 06 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 207
Totaal aantal bezoekers 35799

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Augustus 2014 - 30 Juni 2015

Hey Hay River

03 September 2010 - 11 Juni 2011

I say Glasgow... Take Me Out

Landen bezocht: